DROZ PHOTO_KilianJornet_10947

As the first month of 2015 comes to a close, MUT (Mountain, Ultra, Trail) and ultra-running looks set to continue its rapid growth. There’s plenty to look forward to this year, but, first let’s briefly look back at some of the highest achievers in 2014 – a year when many ultra-runners came of age.

Sky Running World Champions:

The Sky Running World Champs invites the crème de la crème of ultra-runners to duke it out on the mountains. 2014 saw some usual faces, but also some new arrivals who look set for more success this year:

Vertical Kilometer

Male: Kilian Jornet (ESP)

Female: Laura Orguè (ESP)

Ultra Distance   

Male: Luis Alberto Hernando (ESP)

Female: Emelie Forsberg (SWE)

Sky Distance

Male: Kilian Jornet (ESP)

Female: Elisa Desco (ITA) 

Ultra-Trail World Tour Champions:


1st – Francois D’Haene

2nd – Ryan SandesKrar_credit Brian Metzler

3rd – Gediminas Grinius


1st – Nuria PICAS-ALBETS

2nd – Fernanda MACIEL

3rd – Nathalie MAUCLAIR

Ultra Runners of the Year:

United States

Male: Rob Krar

Female: Ellie Greenwood


Male: Andrew Tuckey

Female: Lucy Bartholomew

United Kingdom


The headlines:

– A special mention must go to Killian Jornet for setting yet another record for summiting Aconcagua at 959 m in 12h 49 min. More information can be seen here. Next up will be an attempt at Everest.

– Here is the latest teaser for the 2015 Salomon Running TV Season 4

– This is set to be the next big race on the calendar- The Tarawera Ultra– without the return of reigning champion Sage Canaday, a new champion will be crowned.

– Here is the perfect start to your year of running in 2015- Habits to adopt.

– Here are some races that have already set the tone for 2015:

– Bandera USA 100k Trail Championships: website & Results

– Australian 50km Trail Championships – Two Bays: website & Results

– HURT 100: website & Results

– Vibram® Hong Kong 100 Ultra Trail® Race: website & Results

– San Diego 50: website & Results

For the 2015 Calendar of races, follow these links:

SkyRunner World Series and Continental Championships

Ultra-Trail World Tour Champions